Multiple Losses

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cut Off.”

The summer of 2014 was probably the beginning to what felt like one of the loneliest times in my life. This month, almost a full year ago, our Dad decided to tell us he was leaving. We lived an entire week more with him in the house after his startling statement. Then he was gone. He packed his stuff up and just left. A month later, I lose every single one of my friends. I went to a youth group and had another old friend from elementary, and we all went to camp that year and there was a bit of well drama because of teenagers and hormones. I don’t really want to get into the details of that – basically I lost my best friend and what I thought was a really cool guy friend. There were still a few weeks I was in communication with everyone, we all still texted as if everything was normal. I was a little upset with this best friend of mine, but we were okay. Somehow withing only a matter of a few weeks, that all vanished. No more best friend. No more “cool guy.” Even two of my very closest friends at the youth group, I lost them. I don’t really know how it happened, but it did. So no Dad. No friends. That same summer my mom and older sister were both in college too, so I didn’t really have anyone to talk to. All of us kids were still trying to cope with what had just happened with Dad. Strangely enough though, everything got better once he left. Sure, I was lonely. But things were better for awhile. I can’t really explain it, but the entire house felt lighter. It was easier to live for awhile. I don’t say this out of spite or any harshness in my heart towards him, but out of truth. Every single person in this house would agree with my statement. Of course, its probably wrong I think I’m better off without a father figure, but there’s plenty of heartache and trauma to make that match up. I had a tough life earlier on. But I was adopted by a very loving family; a loving family including that same Dad that left us a year ago. He was once a good man. He always did love us. He just got caught up in the world and chose to leave us for it. But he used to be a good man and maybe one day he’ll be that same man, or better. Hopefully better. Mainly for the sake of my 10 year-old brother who no longer has a man to look up to. Just a house full of girls. But I think we’re still teaching him pretty well. Would’ve been nice if he had a Dad around to do “guy stuff” though. The boy I still see as little for some reason will be 11 tomorrow. Time sure does fly.

Leave a Reply

